SANTO DOMINGO vs SANTIAGO

Castro156

Oct 9, 2011
NEW YORK
I’m sure this has been covered in the past. Just looking for updated points of view.

Im team Santiago…

The calmer lifestyle, less traffic, the cleanliness, the air quality and the overall vibe.

What are your thoughts guys.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Santisgo de los Caballeros is a better and cleaner city (shh, don’t let the Capitaleños hear that.)

A little known fact about Amelia Vega is that she is actually from Santo Domingo. Her entire family is from Santiago, but she was actually born in SD.

FF1

Dec 17, 2022
DR
Why would you move to a Caribbean island and live in a big city with crazy traffic and no beach?!?
Exactly! I've lived in Santiago for about 3 months and in SD for about 2. Both times I thought WTF am I doing here? If I'm gonna be far away from the beach and deal with the traffic might as well stay in Toronto. Sosua here I come and I'm never leaving you again! 😁

• Wow
Reactions: Jumbo and CristoRey

bob saunders

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
dr1.com
Exactly! I've lived in Santiago for about 3 months and in SD for about 2. Both times I thought WTF am I doing here? If I'm gonna be far away from the beach and deal with the traffic might as well stay in Toronto. Sosua here I come and I'm never leaving you again! 😁
Each to their own. Santiago isn't that far from the beaches, plus there are numerous clean river swimming spots within 20 minutes of the city. Traffic is bad at times in Santiago but if you know the city you can avoid much of that and still get to your destination. We go to the beach from Jarabacoa about once a month, overnight then return home. Beaches are ok, but not a necessary component for living on a tropical island. This is a big island, lots to see and do that has nothing to do with beaches.

keepcoming

Moderator - Living & General Stuff
May 25, 2011